Mountains in Lombardy-Italy and UNESCO World Heritage

  • There are 10 UNESCO sites in Lombardy, which are widely known for their cultural heritage and magnificence, and 2 UNESCO intangible heritage. That makes Lombardy the Italian region with the highest concentration of sites in the World Heritage List.

    Five sites are mountains or on mountains.

    Il Sacro Monte di Varese è iscritto nella lista Unesco dal 2003 (Newpress)

    Monte sacro- Varese

    Il Sacro Monte di Ossuccio (Como) è iscritto nella lista Unesco dal 2003

    Sacro Monte di Ossuccio -Como

    La rosa camuna, simbolo della Lombardia, è la rielaborazione di uno dei graffiti della Valle Camonica (Bolzoni)

    Camuni- Val Camonica

    Monte San Giorgio (Varese), ultimo sito riconosciuto dall'Unesco in Lombardia

    Monte S.Giorgio - Varese

    Il trenino rosso, patrimonio Unesco dal 2008, collega Tirano a Sankt Moritz salendo fino ai 2.256 metri del passo del Bernina (Epa)

    Bernina train - Tirano

    Wherever you are in our area, the mountains, the Alps, rule the landscape.

    Since we have identified the hydrogeological issue as the most important problem, due to human activities, in Lombardy, we decided to study in deep this problem, which starts from the mountains, and plan some projects to preserve these landscapes.

    Our steps:

    - Analysis of our area

    - Our mountains and the climate change

    Our field investigation

    - The Bernina train,  UNESCO heritage site

    Our trip - Article

    - Our project