SCENARIO 2

The euro coins

(National sides)

Coins, unlike banknotes that are the same throughout the euro area, have a peculiarity: only one aspect is common. The other differs from country to country • is the so-called national face of the coins. Of course, everything is valid and it is circulating normally. On the national sides there are designs that are related to the history, culture and present of the countries. Somehow these representations are the identity of each state.

Eurozone countries are 19, but the euro is also used as the official currency in four non-EU states: San Marino and Vatican on the Italian peninsula, Monaco in Southeast France and Andorra (between Spain and France). There are, therefore, 23 national sides in coins. From these:

- In 5 countries there are 8 different representations, eg. each coin is different.
- In 1 country (Andorra) there are 4 different representations .
- In 12 countries there are 3 different representations, typically one for large coins $(1 \in 2)$, one for medium (10, 20, 50L) and one for small (1, 2, 5).
- In 5 countries there is a show, eg .all coins have the same look.

The euro area countries can jointly issue commemorative coins to celebrate events of European significance. These coins are exclusive trophies and so far four have been released:

- One for 50 years since the Treaty of Rome (2007),
- one for 10 years of Economic and Monetary Union (2009),
- one for 10 years of euro banknotes and coins (2012); and
- one for the 30 years since the establishment of the European flag (2015).

National commemorative coins

Eurozone countries can still issue their own, separate commemorative coins (up to twice a year). In this way, they celebrate a historic anniversary or celebrate contemporary events of historical significance.

• The first commemorative coin was issued by Greece in 2004 on the occasion of the Athens Olympic Games.